Missoula City Council Public Works Committee Minutes

October 20, 2021, 12:15 pm ZOOM Webinar

Members present:	Stacie Anderson, Mirtha Becerra (chair), John P. Contos, Jordan Hess, Gwen Jones, Julie Merritt, Amber Sherrill, Sandra Vasecka, Heidi West
Members absent:	Heather Harp, Jesse Ramos, Bryan von Lossberg

1. ADMINISTRATIVE BUSINESS

1.1 Roll Call

1.2 Approval of the Minutes

The minutes were approved as submitted.

1.2.1 Minutes from PW Committee 9/29/2021

2. PUBLIC COMMENT

3. COMMITTEE BUSINESS

3.1 Appointment to the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Board

Mayor Engen presenting,

Mayor Engen introduced Dr. Nick Furlong and explained that he is an active cyclist interested in keeping people healthy and active. Ms. Sherrill thanked Dr. Furlong for being willing to put time into this Board and his community. Mr. Weiss thanked the council for approving the appointment and said he would be looking forward to working with Dr. Furlong on the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Board.

Moved by: Amber Sherrill

Confirm the Mayor's appointment of Nick Furlong to the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Board to complete a vacated term beginning immediately and expiring on September 30, 2023.

AYES: (8): Mirtha Becerra, John Contos, Jordan Hess, Gwen Jones, Julie Merritt, Amber Sherrill, Sandra Vasecka, and Heidi West

ABSENT: (4): Stacie Anderson, Heather Harp, Jesse Ramos, and Bryan von Lossberg

Vote results: Approved (8 to 0)

3.2 Purchase of Four (4) 1 Ton Pickup Trucks for Missoula Water

Scot Colwell Fleet Maintenance Director,

These pickup trucks are for the Missoula Water Division, and they are replacements for four older trucks in the fleet. The older trucks will either be sent to auction or transferred to another department. These trucks are funded through the Capital Improvement Program. This purchase is under budget, and the remaining funds will be used to service bodies, headache racks, and toolboxes.

Moved by: Julie Merritt

Approve the purchase of Four (4) Ford F350 pickup trucks for Missoula Water from National Auto Fleet Group of Watsonville, CA for \$38,489.70 each for a total of \$153,958.80 for all four.

AYES: (9): Stacie Anderson, Mirtha Becerra, John Contos, Jordan Hess, Gwen Jones, Julie Merritt, Amber Sherrill, Sandra Vasecka, and Heidi West

ABSENT: (3): Heather Harp, Jesse Ramos, and Bryan von Lossberg

Vote results: Approved (9 to 0)

3.3 Purchase of Two (2) Electric Parking Enforcement Scooters

Scot Colwell Fleet Maintenance Director,

The new scooters will be replacing two older scooters that will be sold at auction. The Parking Commission is an Enterprise Department so they can pay for their vehicles. The electric scooters are about \$4,000 more than the gas scooters. This is typical of most electric vehicles. The benefits of electric vehicles are no emissions, lower cost of maintenance, and a smaller carbon footprint. The City is trying to move towards more electric or hybrid options when available. The chargers for these scooters can be plugged into the wall, and the parking garage has charging stations. The older scooters can sell in auction for around \$2,000 to \$5,000, and the money goes back to Parking Commission. The Parking Commission currently has an electric scooter, and the City sees benefits in maintenance and gas costs.

Ms. Merritt commented that the cost of one scooter is similar in price to one F350 pickup truck. Mr. Colwell explained that the trucks are made in a plant and make several a day. The scooters are a specialty item made from Kia cars, and they only make one or two a day, so the costs are higher. Mr. Colwell also added that other brands are less money, but the safety features are substantially better. They protect the officers who are out in them.

Moved by: Julie Merritt

Approve the purchase of two (2) Go-4 Electric parking enforcement scooters from MC Electric Vehicles of Seattle, WA for \$39,585.00 each for a total purchase price of \$79,170.00.

AYES: (9): Stacie Anderson, Mirtha Becerra, John Contos, Jordan Hess, Gwen Jones, Julie Merritt, Amber Sherrill, Sandra Vasecka, and Heidi West

ABSENT: (3): Heather Harp, Jesse Ramos, and Bryan von Lossberg

Vote results: Approved (9 to 0)

3.4 Purchase of One (1) Small Pickup Truck for Parks CLM

Scot Colwell Fleet Maintenance Director,

This purchase is a new request, funded through the CLM Levee Fund and approved in the budget.

Moved by: Julie Merritt

Approve the purchase of one (1) 2022 Chevy Colorado for the Parks Conservation Lands Management program from National Auto Fleet Group of Watsonville, CA for \$30,515.74.

AYES: (9): Stacie Anderson, Mirtha Becerra, John Contos, Jordan Hess, Gwen Jones, Julie Merritt, Amber Sherrill, Sandra Vasecka, and Heidi West

ABSENT: (3): Heather Harp, Jesse Ramos, and Bryan von Lossberg

Vote results: Approved (9 to 0)

3.5 Professional Services Agreement with WGM Group Inc. for Water Rights Consulting Services

Ross Mollenhauer Engineering Manager Presenting,

As part of the purchase of the Flynn Lowney Ditch, the City would like to make sure the remaining users of the Flynn Lowney ditch have water rights transferred through a change application. The first type of change application is to transfer water rights to the owner with existing wells, and the second is to transfer water rights back into the stream, which is called In-stream rights. The City intends to sell these In-stream water rights to the Columbia Basin Water Transaction Fund, and the Clark Fork Coalition is helping the City with this process. Also included are four permit applications for users who used to get water from the ditch but will now be drilling new wells and transferring the water rights to those wells. The Missoula Redevelopment Agency will be paying for this agreement. The committee members had a brief discussion on water rights and the sale of water rights and then approved the agreement.

Moved by: Jordan Hess

Approve and authorize the Mayor to sign a professional services agreement with WGM Group Inc. for water rights consulting services at a cost not to exceed \$35,076.00.

AYES: (8): Stacie Anderson, Mirtha Becerra, John Contos, Jordan Hess, Gwen Jones, Amber Sherrill, Sandra Vasecka, and Heidi West

ABSTAIN: (1): Julie Merritt

ABSENT: (3): Heather Harp, Jesse Ramos, and Bryan von Lossberg

Vote results: Approved (8 to 0)

4. ADJOURNMENT