Missoula City Council Committee of the Whole Minutes DRAFT

January 5, 2022 9:00 AM ZOOM Webinar

Members present: Stacie Anderson, Mirtha Becerra, Daniel Carlino, John P. Contos,

Jordan Hess, Gwen Jones, Mike Nugent, Jennifer Savage, Amber

Sherrill, Sandra Vasecka, Heidi West

Members absent: Kristen Jordan

1. ADMINISTRATIVE BUSINESS

1.1 Roll Call

1.2 Approval of the Minutes

The minutes from December 15, 2021 were approved as submitted.

2. PUBLIC COMMENT

No public present.

3. COMMITTEE BUSINESS

3.1 Election of City Council Committee chairs

3.1.1 Nomination of Committee Chair for Administration and Finance Committee

Jordan Hess nominates Heidi West.

AYES: (11): Alderperson Anderson, Alderperson Becerra, Alderperson Carlino, Alderperson, Contos, Alderperson Hess, Alderperson Jones, Alderperson Nugent, Alderperson Savage, Alderperson Sherrill, Alderperson Vasecka, and Alderperson West ABSENT (1): Alderperson Jordan

Vote result: Approved (11 to 0)

3.1.2 Nomination of Committee Chair for Land Use and Planning Committee

Mike Nugent nominates Jordan Hess.

AYES: (10): Alderperson Anderson, Alderperson Carlino, Alderperson, Contos, Alderperson Hess, Alderperson Jones, Alderperson Nugent, Alderperson Savage,

Alderperson Sherrill, Alderperson Vasecka, and Alderperson West

ABSENT (2): Alderperson Becerra, Alderperson Jordan

Vote result: Approved (10 to 0)

3.1.3 Nomination of Committee Chair for Parks and Conservation Committee

Stacie Anderson nominates Amber Sherrill.

AYES: (11): Alderperson Anderson, Alderperson Becerra, Alderperson Carlino, Alderperson, Contos, Alderperson Hess, Alderperson Jones, Alderperson Nugent, Alderperson Savage, Alderperson Sherrill, Alderperson Vasecka, and Alderperson West ABSENT (1): Alderperson Jordan Vote result: Approved (11 to 0)

3.1.4 Nomination of Committee Chair for Public Safety and Health Committee

Sandra Vasecka nominates Stacie Anderson.

AYES: (11): Alderperson Anderson, Alderperson Becerra, Alderperson Carlino, Alderperson, Contos, Alderperson Hess, Alderperson Jones, Alderperson Nugent, Alderperson Savage, Alderperson Sherrill, Alderperson Vasecka, and Alderperson West

ABSENT (1): Alderperson Jordan Vote result: Approved (11 to 0)

3.1.5 Nomination of Committee Chair for Public Works Committee

Amber Sherrill nominates Mirtha Becerra.

AYES: (11): Alderperson Anderson, Alderperson Becerra, Alderperson Carlino, Alderperson, Contos, Alderperson Hess, Alderperson Jones, Alderperson Nugent, Alderperson Savage, Alderperson Sherrill, Alderperson Vasecka, and Alderperson West ABSENT (1): Alderperson Jordan

Vote result: Approved (11 to 0)

3.2 Council Appointments to Local Emergency Planning Committee, Community Forum, City County Health Board, Transportation Policy Coordinating Committee and Missoula Civic Television Advisory Committee

Gwen Jones would like to schedule regular updates from council members to report back from the local boards and commissions that they are liaisons with; as only some of the groups have formal updates related to budget matters.

3.2.1 Nomination of Council Representative to Local Boards and Commissions:

Gwen Jones nominates the following council members to the corresponding positions; this slate will be referred to the City Council agenda for confirmation:

Clark Fork Market: Stacie Anderson

Missoula Civic Television Advisory Committee: Daniel Carlino (one spot remains unassigned)

Local Emergency Planning: Sandra Vasecka

Community Forum: Gwen Jones

City County Health Board: Amber Sherrill

Transportation Policy Coordinating Committee: Mirtha Becerra

AYES: (11): Alderperson Anderson, Alderperson Becerra, Alderperson Carlino, Alderperson, Contos, Alderperson Hess, Alderperson Jones, Alderperson Nugent, Alderperson Savage, Alderperson Sherrill, Alderperson Vasecka, and Alderperson West

ABSENT (1): Alderperson Jordan Vote result: Approved (11 to 0)

4. ADJOURNMENT

Adjourned at 9:31am by Gwen Jones.