# Missoula City Council Public Safety, Health and Operations Committee Minutes

April 6, 2022 3:45 PM ZOOM Webinar

Members present: Stacie Anderson (chair), Daniel Carlino, John P. Contos, Mirtha Becerra,

Gwen Jones, Kristen Jordan, Mike Nugent, Jennifer Savage, Amber

Sherrill, Sandra Vasecka, Heidi West

Members absent: Jordan Hess

#### 1. ADMINISTRATIVE BUSINESS

## 1.2 Approval of the Minutes

### 1.2.1 Minutes of the March 2, 2022 PSH meeting

The minutes were approved as submitted.

#### 3. COMMITTEE BUSINESS

# 3.1 Appointment to the Police Commission

The Committee discussed the extensive work experience that Mr. Babak Rastgoufard brings to the position of Police Commissioner.

Moved by: Gwen Jones

Confirm the Mayor's reappointment of Babak Rastgoufard to the Police Commission for a term beginning May 1, 2022 and expiring on April 30, 2025.

AYES: (10): Stacie Anderson, Daniel Carlino, John Contos, Mirtha Becerra, Gwen Jones, Kristen Jordan, Mike Nugent, Jennifer Savage, Amber Sherrill, and Sandra Vasecka

ABSENT: (2): Jordan Hess, and Heidi West

Vote results: Approved (10 to 0)

# 3.2 Ordinance amending Residency Requirements of Emergency Public Safety Employees

Heidi West, who was not in attendance during roll call, joined the meeting.

Fire Chief Gordy Hughes and Police Chief Scott Hoffman addressed the Committee on the impact that such an ordinance may have on the readiness of emergency personnel. There have been two incidents, in recent memory, that have required all employees to report at once. One was the urban avalanche and the other was a restaurant fire.

Moved by: Sandra Vasecka

[First reading and preliminary adoption] Set a public hearing on May 2, 2022, and preliminarily adopt an ordinance amending Chapter 2.80 Missoula Municipal Code entitled "Residency Requirements for Emergency Public Safety Employees to change the distance from the city that peace officers and firefighters may live from 30 minute to 45-minute average and reasonable response time, include minor amendments to reflect current law and repeal an exception that no longer applies to current employees.

AYES: (11): Stacie Anderson, Daniel Carlino, John Contos, Mirtha Becerra, Gwen Jones, Kristen Jordan, Mike Nugent, Jennifer Savage, Amber Sherrill, Sandra Vasecka, and Heidi West

ABSENT: (1): Jordan Hess

Vote results: Approved (11 to 0)

## 4. ADJOURNMENT

4:11 p.m.