Missoula City Council Parks and Conservation Committee Minutes

June 16, 2021 12:45 PM City Council Chambers 140 W. Pine Street, Missoula , MT

Members present:	Mirtha Becerra, John P. Contos, Gwen Jones, Julie Merritt, Amber Sherrill (chair), Heidi West
Members absent:	Stacie Anderson, Heather Harp, Jordan Hess, Jesse Ramos, Sandra Vasecka, Bryan von Lossberg
Others present:	Staff Present: Jeff Gicklhorn, Corena Maurer, Jim Nugent

1. ADMINISTRATIVE BUSINESS

1.1 Roll Call

No quorum present.

1.2 Approval of the Minutes from June 9, 2021

Minutes were tabled until the next meeting.

2. PUBLIC COMMENT

None

3. COMMITTEE BUSINESS

3.1 Jumbo Thinning watershed consulting contract June 2021

Jeff Gicklhorn introduced himself and gave an overview of the request.

Mr. Gicklhorn reviewed the service agreement.

Amber Sherrill asked about a timeframe for the project.

Julie Merritt asked to share the map with the public.

Jim Nugent noted that the word "forty" on the payment line of the agreement is misspelled.

Moved by: Julie Merritt

(No quorum present) Approve and authorize the Mayor to sign an agreement with Watershed Consulting LLC. for the amount of \$45,500.00 for forest thinning on Mt. Jumbo and in Marshall Canyon.

AYES: (6): Mirtha Becerra, John Contos, Gwen Jones, Julie Merritt, Amber Sherrill, and Heidi West

ABSENT: (6): Stacie Anderson, Heather Harp, Jordan Hess, Jesse Ramos, Sandra Vasecka, and Bryan von Lossberg

Vote results: Approved (6 to 0)

3.2 Appointment to the Cemetery Board

Moved by: Gwen Jones

(No quorum present) Confirm the Mayor's appointment of Ashley Hunter to the Cemetery Board for a term beginning immediately and expiring on April 30, 2024.

AYES: (6): Mirtha Becerra, John Contos, Gwen Jones, Julie Merritt, Amber Sherrill, and Heidi West

ABSENT: (6): Stacie Anderson, Heather Harp, Jordan Hess, Jesse Ramos, Sandra Vasecka, and Bryan von Lossberg

Vote results: Approved (6 to 0)

3.3 Re-appointments to the Energy and Climate Team

Moved by: Julie Merritt

(No quorum present) Re-appoint Aviv Guscio, Virgil Jones and Ellis Walker-Keleher to serve as Youth Team Members on the Energy and Climate Team for terms beginning immediately and ending on May 31, 2022.

AYES: (6): Mirtha Becerra, John Contos, Gwen Jones, Julie Merritt, Amber Sherrill, and Heidi West

ABSENT: (6): Stacie Anderson, Heather Harp, Jordan Hess, Jesse Ramos, Sandra Vasecka, and Bryan von Lossberg

Vote results: Approved (6 to 0)

4. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 1:022pm.

Submitted by: Corena Maurer

City of Missoula Parks & Recreation